Tarsha: 2 Men, 1 Week

During one week, I met two men.

Guy Number 1

He’s tall (I like tall men) dark skin, nice physique, well -dressed (not many men can rock a bow tie) professional and a gentleman. When we chat he continually make me laugh.

We share a love of travel, books and wine.

Hmmmmm Ok, I think maybe this could lead to a good few months on dating, especially into the spring and summer when we could really get out and enjoy the sites.

During a chat, I mention that I have a friend who lives in his neighborhood.  His neighborhood is small, very few black folk reside there so he asks “What’s your friend’s name”

And when I say it, DEAD SILENCE…..

Long story short, he and my girl have been lovers or as he put it she was his dip—meaning fuck buddy for our old folk.

Wow.

He goes on to tell me that he would still like for us to proceed because he’s into me and haven’t met a woman like me in a long time.

I change the subject. We enjoy a few more minutes of conversation and the call ends.

I haven’t returned his subsequent calls or texts. I cannot proceed.

I’m out.

ImageGuy Number 2

I attended a panel discussion about Hip Hop recently. It was a full panel of mostly men. One man stands out:

Tall, long deadlocks, full beard, chocolate complexion. He’s wearing camouflage pants and Tims….AKA Timberland Boots. This look is straight Hip Hop and NYC. I’m feeling him!

And then he opens his mouth and spits some knowledge that I was so turned on.

And listening to him reminded me of

Dead Prez song called  “Mind Sex”  Take a listen, then come back.

For about 2 hours when it was his turn to speak, I listed to him discuss Critical Consciousness, Critical Empathy, Patriarchy, Neo Colonism, as well as the need to live the ancient principle of Maat (balance).

During one of his statements I clapped and wanted to scream out like I was in church on a Sunday.

At first, I was physically attracted to him and his style.

Now, I was in awe of his intellect.

For the first time ever, I decided to make a move so at the end I went and introduced myself, as well as told him how much I enjoyed his statements.

We chit chat for a bit.

I’m so into this dude, I wonder if he could tell.

I’m not sure, but I am sure his woman could tell because she promptly made herself known.

I said goodbye and I left.

I haven’t met a man who turned me on with his intellect in a very long time.

I haven’t met a man who I felt like I was an intellectual equal to in what seems like forever.

I know many smart conscious black men. However, I know very few who can understand and appreciate feminist thought and put it into perspective and check themselves. This is what Maat teaches. Personal responsibility.

This guy literally BLEW my MIND

The night before the panel discussion, I watched the movie Malcolm X. Malcolm X is one of heroes (Heru). He’s one of the few people who have been influential in my life.

As I watched, I silently prayed and asked for my Malcolm….My Heru.

Then the next day I meet a man who embodies so much of what I want and admire in a man.

Yes he taken, but the meeting I believe is the Universe way of saying “Soon Come”

Leave a comment